Disc Golf this Weekend: High Plains Challenge X in Fort Morgan, Colorado

This weekend in Colorado, on June 9-10, 2012, several World Champions and some of the best touring professionals across the planet will come to Fort Morgan to compete in the High Plains Challenge X Disc Golf Tournament. This is PDGA A-tier and CDSA Thin Air Tour event, with the biggest and most competitive field in Colorado disc history.

This two-day event will give disc golfers a chance to play through two courses—aptly named Optimist and Pessimist. With so many exceptional disc golf pros competing in this tournament, this would be a perfect time to get out and watch them showcase their impressive skills.  The public is welcome and encouraged to come and watch all the action.

Players can practice on Thursday, June 7 and Friday, June 8 with a random doubles round on Friday. Check-in for the tournament will be held from 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. on Friday.  For a detailed schedule visit the Mile High Disc Golf Club site here.

This year’s event will bring many well-known players in disc golf from across the country, including 2009 World Champion Phil Arthur,  2011 World Champion Paige Pierce, 2010 World Champion Eric McCabe and 2008 World Champion Dave Feldberg. 2011 PDGA Female Rookie of the Year, Catrina Allen will also be in the competition along with many of the best touring professionals such as Paul Ulibarri, Nikko Locastro and Cale Leiviska.

Several outstanding Colorado professionals will also be there, including Colorado State Champion Joe Rovere, 2003 Women’s World Champion Peggy Berry of Laporte, Chad Francis of Golden and Mitch Sonderfan of Erie.

The weather is predicted to be warm and dry in northeast Colorado this weekend, making this a perfect time to get out and enjoy the sunshine and learn a little more about the great sport of disc golf!

More from this contributor:

Paul McBeth Wins Another One at Disc Golf’s G&L Clothing Exchange in Des Moines

Terry Gallops Gets the Win at Disc Golf’s Big Valley Challenge + WGE in Durham, NC

Emina Weaver Crowned Champion at Disc Golf’s La Mirada Women’s Global Event

Eric McCabe Crowned Champion at Disc Golf’s Crowley Spring Stampede