Akeem Williams Wins Disc Golf’s Lone Star Lasers 3rd Annual Summer Spectacular

The Lone Star Lasers 3rd Annual Summer Spectacular was presented by Straight Line Discs and took place in Grand Prairie, Texas at the Turner Park Disc Golf Course on Saturday, June 16. With 61 disc golfers coming out to compete in this PDGA sanctioned C-tier event, it was Akeem Williams of Shreveport, Louisiana who was crowned champion in the open division with a final score of 7-under par.

In 2011, Williams won both the National Players Challenge Last Chance Qualifier and the Tyler 54. He was followed by Kevin Bates of Heath, Texas and Justin Jones of Murphy, Texas in a tie for second place, both scoring 4-under par. Bates has had several victories this year, including the Dynamic Discs Warm up and the first of the  North Texas Tournament #2 Series.

Justin Sanders and Theth Sien also finished in a tie at fourth place, both coming in at just a stroke behind Jones and Bates with a final score of 3-under par. The masters division win went to Marcus Roberts of Lubbock, Texas scoring 10-under par, while second place finisher Dennie Ortega from Fort Worth, Texas had a final score of 5-under par.

Randy Greywoolf of Irving, Texas emerged the winner in the grandmasters division scoring 6-under par and it was Glenn Hale of Highland Village, Texas who followed at second place with a final score of 3-under par. Shaine Powers of McKinney, Texas won the tight race in the advanced division scoring 3-under par, with Mitch Branick of Richardson, Texas capturing second place at just a stroke behind.

Scoring 3-over par to win the advanced masters division was Rick Hajeck of Fort Worth, Texas, and it was Nathan Davis of Malakoff, Texas who finished at second place in the division with a final score of 5-over par.

Finally, the intermediate division win went to Michael Kaufman of Abilene, Texas scoring 3-over par. Kaufman also had a victory this year in the Crush at the Concho competing in the same division. Cameron Shirley of Arlington, Texas followed at second place with a final score of 7-over par.

Congratulations to all the winners and competitors on a great day of disc golf!

More from this contributor:

Brian Schweberger Crowned Champion at Archdale-Trinity Chamber of Commerce Disc Golf Open

Dave Feldberg Crowned Champion at Disc Golf’s Kansas City Wide Open

Paul McBeth Wins Another One at Disc Golf’s G&L Clothing Exchange in Des Moines

Terry Gallops Gets the Win at Disc Golf’s Big Valley Challenge + WGE in Durham, NC