Cale Leiviska and Catrina Allen Crowned Champion at Disc Golf’s Beaver State Fling

The Beaver State Fling is one of the biggest and best disc golf events in the nation. Played at the spectacular Riverbend Disc Golf Course in Milo McIver State Park over the weekend of June 15-17, 152 pros and 142 ams came out to compete in this PDGA sanctioned A-tier event. Players and spectators were treated to exceptional weather and amazing scenery, in addition to a dramatic finish.

Cale Leiviska from Saint Paul, Minnesota was on the bottom of the lead card going into the final round, but he came back in a big way, shooting the tournament’s best rated round of 1072, and emerged the winner at just a stroke ahead of the second place finisher, local Tim Skellenger, with a final score of 26-under par.

Leiviska has been spending his time on the road with the Non Stop Disc Golf crew, Dave Feldberg, Will Schusterick, and Nikko Locastro,  traveling the world to put on demos and clinics, and helping to spread the word of one of the fastest growing sports on the planet.

Following Skellenger at third place, was the Glass Blown Open winner, Will Schusterick of Nashville, Tennessee, scoring 23-under par and the 2011 Disc Golf World Champion, Nate Doss of Capitola, California captured fourth place with a final score of 22-under par. Portland’s Dave Feldberg followed at fifth place scoring 20-under par, while Steve Rico of Sylmar, California, Steve Brinster of Warwick, New York, and Nate Sexton of Corvallis, Oregon finished in a tie at sixth place, all scoring 18-under par.

12-time World Champion Ken Climo of Clearwater, Florida captured ninth place scoring 17-under par while Jere Eschelman of Penn Valley, California and Ricky Wysocki of Fort Mill, South Carolina ended a tie at tenth place, both coming in with a final score of 16-under par.

The 2011 Female PDGA Rookie of the Year, Catrina Allen from Phoenix, Arizona was crowned champion in the women’s open division with a final score of 12-over par, while the 2011 Women’s World Champion, Paige Pierce of Plano, Texas took second place scoring 15-over par.

Three-time Women’s World Champion Valarie Jenkins of Capitola, California captured third place at just a stroke behind Pierce scoring 16-over par, while Sara Hokom of Caldwell, Idaho and three-time Women’s Wolrd Champion Des Reading of Wimberley, Texas finished in fourth and fifth place respectively.

Phil Arthur of Woodstock, Georgia won the masters division with a final score of 6-under par, four strokes ahead of second place finisher Patrick Brown of San Francisco, California, while Jim Oates of Orangevale, California and Jeff Fiedler of Berkeley, California put on another exciting battle, with Oates ultimately taking the win in the grandmasters division in overtime.

Bruce Sisson of Eugene, Oregon dominated the senior grandmasters division, emerging the winner by 12 strokes over Tom Bontempo of Auburn, Washington.

Congratulations to all the winners and competitors on another highly successful event in the beautiful Pacific Northwest.

More from this contributor:

Brian Schweberger Crowned Champion at Archdale-Trinity Chamber of Commerce Disc Golf Open

Dave Feldberg Crowned Champion at Disc Golf’s Kansas City Wide Open

Paul McBeth Wins Another One at Disc Golf’s G&L Clothing Exchange in Des Moines

Terry Gallops Gets the Win at Disc Golf’s Big Valley Challenge + WGE in Durham, NC