Keith Warren Wins Disc Golf’s Visit Menomonie Open in Wisconsin

The Visit Menomonie Open was held in Menomonie, Wisconsin at three different courses; the Wakanda Park , Axldog Acres and Lambs Creek Disc Golf Courses. With 85 disc golfers competing in this PDGA sanctioned B-tier event it was Keith Warren of Stevens Point, Wisconsin who was crowned champion with a final score of 22-under par.

Warren was the winner of the Wisconsin Spring Opener took place in Freedom, Wisconsin just last month. He was followed in second place by Scotty Burtard of Sheboygan, Wisconsin in second place scoring 19-under par. Burtard was the winner of The Chaining of the New Year that took place this past New Year’s Eve, and he took home several victories in 2011 including the Ale Asylum Open, the Brown Deer Open and the Wisconsin Tour Finale.

Chris Heeren of Janesville, Wisconsin captured third place with a final score of 15-under par. Heeren had a number of wins last year, including the Silver Creek Open II and the Summer Smackdown. Ben Kroll of Winona, Minnesota followed in fourth place scoring 12-under par, while it was Brandon Day of Fridley, Minnesota who took fifth place with a final score of 9-under par.

The masters division win went to Scott Slauson of Waterford, Wisconsin, scoring 8-under par. Slauson had several victories in 2011 competing in the same division, including the Greater Milwaukee Open and the Mad City Open. Steve Kinde of Boyceville, Wisconsin followed in second place with a final score of 6-under par.

It was Rick Rentz of Saint Cloud, Minnesota who won the grandmasters division scoring 1-under par. He was the winner in the same division last year at both the North Dakota State Championships and the Minnesota Majestic.

The advanced division victory went to Mitch Maloney of Eau Claire, Wisconsin with a final score of 9-under par, while Matt Parker and Chris Hall followed in a tie for second place scoring 6-under par and Maija Jenson of Duluth, Minnesota won for the women in the advanced division scoring 30-over par.

Steve Loos of Oshkosh, Wisconsin won the advanced grandmasters division with a final score of 35-over par , and Peter Tourdot of Star Prairie, Wisconsin captured the win in the intermediate division scoring 6-over par, while Christa Ahrens of Saint Paul, Minnesota won the division for the women.

Finally, Joe Nemec of Appleton, Wisconsin was the winner in the recreational division scoring 14-over par.

The first time K.C. Dermody played disc golf was in the spectacular Black Hills of South Dakota. She has since become addicted to promoting the sport, and enjoys playing in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. She welcomes comments and suggestions, with the goal of promoting the sport of disc golf throughout the world. Find her on or Twitter @kcdermody.

More from this contributor:

Will Schusterick Crowned Champion in Disc Golf’s Wild Glass Blown Open at Emporia, Kansas

Brad Schick Captures the Victory at Disc Golf’s Seviren Lang Memorial in Georgetown, Indiana

Tujunga, California’s Verdugo Hills Disc Golf Course in Jeopardy

Disc Golf: PDGA Women’s Global Event Coming in May