Mike Schwieger Wins Disc Golf’s Fox Valley Open Wisconsin Tour Stop

The Fox Valley Open Wisconsin Tour Stop took place on Saturday, June 2 in Oshkosh, Wisconsin at the Winnebago County Park Disc Golf Course. With 96 disc golfers coming out to compete in this PDGA sanctioned B-tier event, it was Mike Schweiger of Appleton, Wisconsin who was crowned champion in the men’s open division with a final score of 16-under par.

Following at second place was Chris Heeren of Janesville, Wisconsin scoring 13-under par. Heeren competed in numerous events in 2011, and had quite a few victories including the Leave It To Beaver II and the Silver Creek Open II.

In a three-way tie at third place, was Robbie Olson of Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, Keith Warren of Stevens Point, Wisconsin and Greg Schwartz of Glendale, Wisconsin, all with a final score of 9-under par. Steve Held of Glendale, Wisconsin captured sixth place while CJ King of Greenville, Wisconsin and local Jeremy Vils finished in a tie for seventh place, both scoring 5-under par.

Lauren Braaksma of Sheboygan, Wisconsin won the women’s open division with a final score of 36-over par.

The masters division win went to Mike Newhouse on Madison, Wisconsin scoring 6-over par while Bryan Wardall of Appleton, Wisconsin followed in second place with a final score of 16-over par.

Brad Wendt of Madison, Wisconsin won the grandmasters division in overtime after both he and Rob Mertins of Neenah, Wisconsin finished with a score of 7-over par.

Local Matt Parker was the winner of the advanced division scoring 6-under par while Jeffrey Unferth of Fond du Lac, Wisconsin followed at just a stroke behind to finish in second place. Nikki Wayd of Milwaukee, Wisconsin won the women’s advanced division with a final score of 46-over par.

The advanced masters division victory went to Shelby Watt of Madison, Wisconsin scoring at even par while Tom McManus of Gurnee, Illinois was the winner of the advanced grandmasters division with a final score of 10-over par.

Local Ethan King captured the win in the intermediate division with a final score of 1-under par and Stacey Van Eperen won the division for the women scoring 60-over par. Finally, Mike Van De Wettering won the recreational division with a final score of 1-over par and Zac Halbach took the victory in the junior under 16 boys division scoring 18-over par.

Congratulations to all the winners and competitors on a great day of disc golf!

The first time K.C. Dermody played disc golf was in the spectacular Black Hills of South Dakota. She has since become addicted to promoting the sport, and enjoys playing in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. She welcomes comments and suggestions, with the goal of promoting the sport of disc golf throughout the world. Find her on www.facebook.com/KCDermodyWriter orTwitter@kcdermody.

More from this contributor:

Paul McBeth Wins Another One at Disc Golf’s G&L Clothing Exchange in Des Moines

Terry Gallops Gets the Win at Disc Golf’s Big Valley Challenge + WGE in Durham, NC

Emina Weaver Crowned Champion at Disc Golf’s La Mirada Women’s Global Event

Eric McCabe Crowned Champion at Disc Golf’s Crowley Spring Stampede