Nate Doss Wins Disc Golf’s Pendaries Spring Classic in Rociada, New Mexico

The Pendaries Classic took place at the spectacular Pendaries Village Disc Golf Course in Rociado, New Mexico at the eastern edge of the Santa Fe National Forest over the weekend of April 21-22, 2012. This PDGA sanctioned B-tier event had 90 disc golfers come out to compete, and it was  Nate Doss of Capitola, California who dominated the men’s open division with a final score of 31-under par.

Doss is the number one ranked pro disc golf player in the world and a a three-time World Champion with a long list of accomplishments behind him. He was followed in second place by Evan Brummett of Fort Collins, Colorado with a final score of 6-under par, while tournament director Marcos Castillos of Albuquerque, New Mexico captured third place scoring 1-under par.

Justin Celmer of Westminster, Colorado, Jason Weldon of Mora, New Mexico and William Cantrell, also of Westminster, Colorado, finished in a three-way tie at fourth place, all scoring 2-over par. Bobby Perea, Jonathan Tapia, Cody Buckelew and Dylan Owens finished in seventh, eighth, ninth and tenth place respectively.

In the women’s open division it was three-time Women’s World Champion, Valarie Jenkins of Capitola, California who was crowned champion with a final score of 6-over par. So far this year, she’s had several victories, including the Memorial Championship and the Gentleman’s Club Challenge. Paige Bjerkass and Melissa Berryhill followed in second and third place respectively.

2002 Amateur World Champion  Jay Burghardt  of Littleton, Colorado won the masters division with a final score of 3-under par, while Jerry Harrison of Albuquerque, New Mexico followed in second place scoring 3-over par and Peter Sandoval captured third place with a final score of 4-over par.

Sheila Kirkham of Albuquerque, New Mexico won the masters division for the women scoring 15-over par, with Kathy Hardyman following in second place and Robyn Barker finishing in third.

The grandmasters division win went to Geoff Hungerford of Louisville, Colorado with a final score of 8-over par and it was Kiko Velasquez of Albuquerque, New Mexico who finished in second place scoring 13-over par.

Joel Santrock of Corpus Christi, Texas captured the victory in the advanced division with a final score of 14-over par with Dylan Dunne and Tyler Wadsworth both scoring 17-over par to finish in a tie at second place. Noemi Bjerkaas of Denver, Colorado took the win for the women in the division with a final score of 15-over par.

The advanced masters winner was Jim Clark, who finished with a final score of 19-over par, while Carrie Brodeur captured the win for the women in the advanced grandmasters division scoring 24-over par and Michael Carroll won the advanced senior grandmasters division with a final score of 2-over par.

Finally, it was Ryker Kitt who took the victory in the intermediate division scoring 7-under par and Michelle Burghardt who won the intermediate division for the women with a final score of 10-over par.

Congratulations to all the winners and competitors on a great weekend of disc golf!

The first time K.C. Dermody played disc golf was in the spectacular Black Hills of South Dakota. She has since become addicted to promoting the sport, and enjoys playing in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. She welcomes comments and suggestions, with the goal of promoting the sport of disc golf throughout the world. Find her on or Twitter @kcdermody.

More from this contributor:

Will Schusterick Crowned Champion in Disc Golf’s Wild Glass Blown Open at Emporia, Kansas

Brad Schick Captures the Victory at Disc Golf’s Seviren Lang Memorial in Georgetown, Indiana

Tujunga, California’s Verdugo Hills Disc Golf Course in Jeopardy

Disc Golf: PDGA Women’s Global Event Coming in May