Tyler Horne Wins Disc Golf’s Riverside Drive in Ohio

The Riverside Drive was played at the Griggs Reservoir Park Disc Golf Course in Columbus, Ohio, with the ams playing on Saturday, April 14 and the pros on Sunday, April 15. There were over 100 disc golfers in the competition between both the pros and ams in this PDGA sanctioned B-tier event. Players had to put up with some nasty wind and rain but battled it out to the finish, and it was Tyler Horne who was crowned champion in the men’s open division after shooting a 45 in the first round and a 52 in the second, with a final score of 11-under par.

Horne is from Columbus and had a number of wins last year, including the Charlie Vettiner Open and the Stillwater Open. He was followed in second place by Steve Heckathorne scoring 8-under par while it was Brandon Jordan who finished in third place scoring 6-under par, and in a tie for fourth place was Keith Blakely of Norwalk, Ohio and Scott Kanuth , both at just a stroke behind scoring 5-under par.

Brad Schick of Westerville, Ohio, the winner of the Parma Winter Point Series Event 3 and this weekend’s Seviren Lang Memorial, had a sixth place finish scoring 4-under par while Dan Mowka and Scott Burnett captured seventh and eighth place respectively, and it was Brian Parsons and Denny Velardo in ninth and tenth place.

Rebecca Cox was the winner for the women in the open division scoring 11-over par.

In the masters division it was David Cox who captured the victory with a final score of 8-under par and Bo Nash and Pat Sullivan finished in a tie at second place scoring 3-under par.

In the amateur divisions, it was John Allen of Columbus who was crowned champion in the advanced division with a final score of 7-under par. Allen had a victory competing in the same division at the Stillwater Open last year. He was followed by Phil Ulry II and Don Alexander in a tie for second place, with both scoring 6-under par.

The intermediate division win went to Jon DeCapua of Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio with a final score of 1-over par while Andrea Parsons of Medina, Ohio won the division for the women scoring 23-over par.

Finally, Derek Michalek won the recreational division while Luanne Frysinger won the division for the women. Mikey Stonestreet, Jr. won the under 19 boys division and Lacey Bruglar won the under 19 girls division.

Congratulations to all the winners and competitors on a great weekend of disc golf!

The first time K.C. Dermody played disc golf was in the spectacular Black Hills of South Dakota. She has since become addicted to promoting the sport, and enjoys playing in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. She welcomes comments and suggestions, with the goal of promoting the sport of disc golf throughout the world. Find her on www.facebook.com/KCDermodyWriter or Twitter @kcdermody.

More from this contributor:

Will Schusterick Crowned Champion in Disc Golf’s Wild Glass Blown Open at Emporia, Kansas

Brad Schick Captures the Victory at Disc Golf’s Seviren Lang Memorial in Georgetown, Indiana

Tujunga, California’s Verdugo Hills Disc Golf Course in Jeopardy

Disc Golf: PDGA Women’s Global Event Coming in May