Will Schusterick and Sarah Hokom Leading the Open Division at Disc Golf Worlds

The 2012 PDGA World Championships officially began on Tuesday, July 17, in Charlotte, North Carolina. With one round down, Will Schusterick leads the Men’s Open division coming out with a final score of 11-under par. Sarah Hokom’s ace on Hole #13 at Idlewild Park Disc Golf Course helped to take her to the top of the Women’s Open division by the end of the first round,  scoring a total of 9-under par. Hokom was impressive, hitting an ace on Hole #13 at the Idlewild Park Disc Golf Course.

Following four Women’s World Champions, fro 2011 Paige Pierce, 2010′s Sarah Stanhope Cunningham, three-time World Champion Valarie Jenkins and three-time World Champion Des Reading, all of these exceptional females were impressive at Idlewild despite the muggy air and high temperatures. With water really coming into play on Hole #16, Jenkins lost her disc in the lake but hopefully it will be retrieved when nets are used to located errant discs.

The four most recent Men’s World Champions, 2011 World Champion Nate Doss, 2010′s Eric McCabe, 2009 Champ Avery Jenkins and 2008′s Disc Golf World Champion, David Feldberg played their first round over at Renaissance Park in the afternoon. The round began at 2 p.m. and wasn’t  finished for almost 5 1/2 hours. The pros had to tough out 95 degree temperatures, high humidity and lots of stinging insects, but there were few complaints heard. Doss and Jenkins were neck-and-neck throughout and ended the evening with a final score of 8-under par.

At the end of the day, Will Schusterick is on top of the men’s open division with Ricky Wysocki, Devan Owens and Paul McBeth all just a stroke behind at 10-under par. Michael Johansen, Garrett Gurthie and Steve Brinster follow, all scoring 9-under par, and there are six men who scored 8-under par yesterday: Nate Doss, Avery Jenkins, Cale Leiviska, Sylvain Gouge, Philo Brathwaite and Geoff Bennett.

Following Sarah Hokum in the Women’s Open division is Elaine King at 6-under par, Jessie Westphal at 5-under par, Valarie Jenkins and Paige Pierce at 3-under par, followed by four players who all scored 2-under par: Catrina Allen, Courtney McCoy, Melynda Apton and Melody King.

12-time World Champion Ken Climo and JohnE McCray are leading the Master’s Division with a final score of 20-under par followed by Jay “Yeti” Reading and Patrick Brown, both scoring 19-under par.

There is a lot more to come this week, and at this point anything can happen. Who will be the 24 World Champions crowned in 2012?